You are here

Call for Demo Proposals

The 14th International Conference on Mobile Data Management (MDM 2013),
to be held in Milan, Italy (June 3-6, 2013) solicits interesting demonstrations
of original research prototypes related to all aspects of mobile data
management. The demo session aims to strengthen the interactions between
researchers and practitioners. It offers an exciting opportunity for
participants to demonstrate their state-of-the-art results to a wide audience
of professionals in the area of mobile, ubiquitous, and pervasive computing.

The demo program provides a highly interactive environment where participants
can demonstrate innovative research prototypes and receive feedback from the
experts on their applicability in the real world as well as the inputs from
researchers to improvise the same.

Demonstrations of advanced implementations and innovative prototypes covering
any of the research areas relevant to the MDM conference are encouraged for

Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • People-centric sensing and innovative mobile sensing applications
  • Crowdsourcing with Smartphones
  • Mobile social applications and services
  • Cloud services and infrastructures for mobile applications
  • Data and Big-data management for mobile applications
  • Context and Location-aware services
  • Mobile databases, systems, services and middleware
  • Pervasive data management and middleware
  • Data mining solutions for mobile networks
  • Transactions and workflows in mobile environments
  • Multi-device mobile interactions
  • Augmented reality systems
  • Rich query interfaces
  • Mobile Health applications and systems

Demo proposals should clearly describe what will be demonstrated and how
the contributions will be illustrated interactively. They should describe
the design, implementation and use of the systems. It is highly recommended
to include in the proposals a URL that shows a preview of the demo (e.g.,
on-line video of the demo, screenshots, etc.).

Formatting and Submission Guidelines:

All submitted demo proposals must be formatted according to IEEE camera-ready
format and must be no longer than three (3) pages. This page limit includes
paper title, authors and affiliation, abstract, body, screenshots, and
bibliography. Accepted demo proposals will appear in the final MDM 2013

Submissions in PDF should be uploaded to the conference submission website
at: under the demo

Demo proposals will be selected based on (i) the novelty and originality of
the demo and the underlying research, (ii) the technical quality of the
proposed implementation, and (iii) the breadth of the applicability and
attractiveness. Please note that at least one author of each accepted demo
presentation must register for the conference and present the demo.


  • Submission of demo proposals: January 23, 2013 February 22, 2013
  • Acceptance notification: February 13, 2013 March 4, 2013
  • Camera-ready paper submission: March 13, 2013 March 19, 2013
  • Conference Dates: June 3-6, 2013

Demo chairs:

  • Yan Huang (North Texas University, USA)
  • Demetris Zeinalipour (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)

Preliminary Demo TPC:

  • Farnoush Banaei-Kashani (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Christian Becker (Universität Mannheim, Germany)
  • Dipanjan Chakraborty (IBM Research, India)
  • Georgios Chatzimilioudis (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
  • Chi-Yin Chow (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Christos Efstratiou (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Takahiro Hara (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Vana Kalogeraki (Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece)
  • Salil Kanhere (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Shou-De Lin (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
  • Hua Lu (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Pedro Jose Marron (Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany)
  • Mohamed F. Mokbel (University of Minnesota - Twin Cities, USA)
  • Kyriakos Mouratidis (Singapore Management University, Singapore)
  • Mario Nascimento (University of Alberta, Canada)
  • Stavros Papadopoulos (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)
  • Santi Phithakkitnukoon (Open University, UK)
  • Mohamed A. Sharaf (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Yannis Theodoridis (University of Piraeus, Greece)
  • De-Nian Yang (Academia Sinica, Taiwan)